The Fashion Show of the Season: BORN IN BLACK


As gorgeous weather and blooming cherry blossom trees made their debut appearances this month, so did the  highly anticipated fashion showcase dubbed “Born in Black.” This event curated by Maya of Insignia MSA and Rickyah of Godmuva Garments, was an ode to Spring fashion  as it occurred on the first of the month. When asked to identify the aesthetics of the show, the designers described sentiments of  eccentrism and exclusivity. As I entered the event space, I felt just that. The setting of the show was ambient and alluring, as the city’s skyline lit up the runway on a charming rooftop in Northeast D.C.

I was fortunate enough to catch up with each designer and gain a little more insight on not only the Born In Black Show, but also their individual brands. Let’s meet the labels and designers behind the flyest fashion show of the season, Born In Black. 


MAYA + INSIGNIA MSA

“INSIGNIA MSA is a subversive, dystopian, and cyber punk-inspired fashion label that provides high-quality, sustainable, and ethically made garments for futuristic individuals.”

KYN: “How would you describe the nature & style of Insignia MSA?  How do you want your audience to perceive your brand?”

MAYA: “I’d like for my brand to be seen as innovative and refreshing. I’d also like for people to understand how important it is to buy clothes that have meaning and value to them rather than fast fashion clothing. When wearing Insignia MSA I want customers to feel that they are truly making a statement from physically wearing our eccentric garments to symbolically representing sustainability with fashion.”

KYN: “What are you most excited about in regard to the Born in Black Fashion Show?”

MAYA: “For the born in black show I’m excited because it’s my first show of the year where I’m showcasing new designs and looks I designed from head to toe! I’m also excited to have worked with Ky, she’s so intelligent and it’s amazing to be a part of her debut as a designer.”

  1.  

KYN: “Provide three words to describe the energy of the Born in Black  event.”

MAYA: “birth, eccentric and dynamic.”

KYN:  “What’s next for Insignia MSA?”

MAYA: “This upcoming year I’m looking forward to more shows and in person events with Insignia MSA! and hopefully expansion!”




RICKYAH + GODMUVA GARMENTS

“I think the best way to describe Godmuva is the brand for the effortless influencer. I really want to shy away from mainstream aesthetics. I love the edgy but sexy girl who has a slowly curated style of her own. If Godmuva was a person, she would be an antiheroine who loves the color black, of course.”

KYN: “What are you most excited about in regard to the Born in Black Fashion Show?”

RICKYAH: “I am most excited to get my ideas out there. Born in black is the first time I am showcasing any of my clothing designs. I am always slow to show my creative works, but these designs have to be shown for me to ever truly start. So cheers to the start.”

  1.   

KYN: “What brought you two together as the co-hosts of the show and how did you two decide on the theme for the event?”

RICKYAH: “I reached out to Maya, my virgo sister, about doing this show with me because Insignia MSA’s aesthetic is so similar to the one I am building. I knew her designs would work perfectly with mine.”

KYN: “Provide three words to describe the energy of the Born in Black event.”

RICKYAH: “exclusive, edgy, and fly af”

KYN:  “What’s next for Godmuva Garments?”

RICKYAH: “Godmuva Garments is just getting started. I feel like I’ve barely started. I am launching April 22nd on Oldirtyfashion.com and from there, there are so many more ideas I have to get out of my head! So stay tuned.”


It was so amazing to attend this showcase and experience this specially curated unconventional kick-off to spring fashion. I’m so excited to see the future success and wins that are in store for these ladies, and encourage all of you to tune in to their brands! 

FOLLOW INSIGNIA MSA HERE

INSIGNIA MSA WEBSITE

FOLLOW GODMUVA GARMENTS HERE

GODMUVA GARMENTS WEBSITE